Wanderers Announce Retained List for 2017-18 Season

Posted: 15th May 2017

Dorking Wanderers have today announced their list of retained players for their maiden season in the Isthmian Premier League, and as expected Wanderers have kept together a vast majority of their promotion winning squad, several of whom have been an integral part of the club now for several years (see below)




Slavomir Huk, Alex Wells



Chris Boulter, Ben Dyett, Robb Sheridan, Dean Gunner, Dean Hamlin



Jerome Beckles, Anthony Oakes, Sam Beard, Tom Summerfield, Giuseppe Sole, Dan Mahoney, Matthew Briggs, Daniel Pearse



Tom Tolfrey, Gareth Chendlik, James McShane, Tommy Hutchings



Manager Marc White is delighted to have kept the nucleus of his side together, and commented: “At Dorking Wanderers it has always been our philosophy to retain rather than release, and develop players with potential. You only have to look at goalkeeper Slavomir Huk as an example, as he’s gone from being a very patient number two the season before last, to a well-established number one in the last campaign, and his performances led to him winning the supporters, players and committee player of the year awards at the clubs recent end of year awards”.


White continued: “The lads are under no illusions, and are aware that they are going to need to step up both in terms of fitness and performance given the standard we will be playing at this coming season. That said, I’ve experienced several of them do this in the past, and I believe that they can do it again”.


White added: “Whilst I’m delighted to have retained so many of the lads from last season, I’m also well aware that we need to add more quality to the squad, and we will be announcing two significant signings in the next few days”.

White concluded: “Everybody at the club would like to wish Jake Beecroft all the best for the future, as due to work commitments he has no option but to move on to pastures new. Jake has been instrumental in our successes’ since his arrival two seasons ago, and we’re very sad to see him go. However, I’m sure Jake will remain good friends with the club as many of our previous players do”.

Dorking Wanderers have retained three of their recent award winners from the last campaign (pictured L-R below)


Striker James McShane (Managers Player of the Year), Matt Briggs (Managers, Players, Committee and Supporters Young Player of the Year) and Slavomir Huk (Players, Committee and Supporters Player of the Year).

Sponsored by

Dorking’s Premier Printer | 01306 888858 | www.barkersprint.com